"Love is a four legged word"

We're passionate about providing the best pet care possible and loving your pets as our own

In Good Hands Pet Care LLC was created not only to provide boarding and petsitting, but give you one place and relationship that you can turn to when you go out of town, need your dog walked, cat visited, or anything else that may come up with your pet. The most important thing when you are gone is your pets safety and well-being.

Our waggin' tails team!

Background Certified
Ashley Watts
 Owner and Founder 

Ashley Watts grew up in St. Maarten in the Carribean and has always been passionate about animals. "I can't remember a time growing up that we weren't nursing an animal back to health or finding a loving home for a found stray." She moved to Charlotte, NC with her family in 1997 and graduated from UNCC with a major in International Business. Ashley interned at a young age at a veterinary clinic, helped rehabilitate abused and neglected horses, and has worked with the Humane Society. 

 

In 2012 she left corporate America to pursue her dream career - creating and owning her own pet care business. 

 

"Since starting In Good Hands Pet Care LLC, I have never looked back. It's true that when you do what you love, it doesn't feel like work. I love my customers and it's wonderful to feel truly appreciated in return." -Ashley

Background Certified
Leslie Kellam
Team Member 

"My name is Leslie Kellam and I am a lifetime resident of Union County. I currently have five dogs of my own, a poodle mix, a Shih Tzu mix, a terrier mix and two English Bulldogs all of which were rescues before we adopted them!

 

My love for animals started when I was a child with owning my own dogs and cats as well as reptiles! I'm probably the only girl you'll meet that's not afraid of a snake. I worked at a veterinarians' office in college so I have experience with dogs and cats of all personalities and I have experience administering medications - even to those that can be difficult :-)

 

Over the last several years I've been heavily involved in dog rescue including fostering, attending adoption events and also helping out on the administrative side to keep the rescue going. I never meet a stranger when it comes to animals and I look forward to meeting your babies!"

Chris Morris
Team Member 

"I am a mother of two adult children. My son Will is a former US Marine and currently a long-haul driver. My daughter Morgan is currently a Senior at UNCC. I have a BA in Psychology from UNCW, where I met my husband Michael, who I’ve been married to for 26 years.

 

I’ve always enjoyed staying active and am an avid Crossfitter and runner.  We have four family dogs, three Jack Russell’s and a one-year old Red Nose Pitbull! Obviously, I thoroughly enjoy being around pets! I also love engaging people in conversation, in order to get to know them better!"

Background Certified
Janelle Sumner
Team Member 
"Hello! My name is Janelle Sumner and I live in Waxhaw, NC. I moved here two years ago from Denver, Colorado.

 

We are originally from the Southeast so we're happy to be closer to family! My husband and I have been married for 18 years and have two teenagers. 

  

My background is in non-profit work where I was an Executive Director raising money for children's cancer research. 

 

Since that time, I have taken my passion for helping others and currently work as a therapy dog team with my Shih Tzu-Poodle mix Sadie. We visit assisted living/retirement facilities, libraries, and anyone who needs the love of a dog. We are on our 5th year of therapy work! It has been such a pleasure bringing smiles and joy to those in need!

Having lived far away from family, I know the importance of finding trusted pet care while you are away. I love animals (I've owned dogs, cats, hamster, and fish to name a few) and look forward to caring for yours!"

Background Certified
Colleen Serran
Team Member 
"Hi, my name is Colleen and I moved to Wesley Chapel 12 years ago from Long Island, NY and I absolutely love the south! I've been married 29 years and am a mother of 2 humans and 4 fur babies. :)

I love all animals and am partial to dogs of all kinds. I have 2 Pekingese and 2 rescue Pit Bulls who are my baby boys. My second Pit I rescued at 5 weeks. Tucker was born with Cerebellum Hyperplasia and was thought  to be blind. He stole my heart on day one and  by the end of the first week I foster failed. 

I have fostered many puppies with several rescues and continue to help when I can. 

Recently, I decided to leave the corporate retail life and spend time doing what I love. Whether it's taking care of my daughters horse, my brood of dogs, my grand dogs, or your fur babies, I am happy!"

Background Certified
Terri Anthony
Team Member 

"My name is Terri Anthony.  I grew up in Pittsburgh, PA and went to school in Ohio but I have lived in Waxhaw since 2000 with my husband Terry.  We have three adult children. My oldest son Tyler just graduated from Clemson University and has moved to Washington, D.C. for his first job as a software engineer for Esri.  My daughter Christin also just graduated from Clemson (they are not twins though!) She will be working on her PhD in Microbiology from Vanderbilt University. And my youngest son Scott is a junior at NC State University pursuing a degree in computer science.

 

I’ve recently left the field of education after almost 20 years. I taught preschool, was an assistant, taught computer classes and most recently I taught first grade. While I loved the kids, I needed a break from the stress of teaching so I decided to work with the animals that I have always loved.

 

We have only 1 dog at the moment (Piper). She is 18 months old.  She replaces the hole left from the loss of two dogs and a cat, all from old age. We have had animals around all of our lives and loved the interaction with our children when they were younger. I consider myself very detail oriented, patient, and loving.  I will take care of your pets as if they were my own!"

Background Certified

Mary Blevins 

Team Member 

"I am a retired fire service captain who moved to Waxhaw in 2014 to be with the awesome man who is now my husband, Ron Colello. " 

 

A lifelong North Carolina native, mother to three adult sons, embraced by my Italian husband's awesome family, and “Gigi” to six awesome grandkids, I grew up in the mountains of North Carolina  near Little Switzerland, lived in Wilmington for eight years - my sons grew up in the ocean! - then bounced to RDU area before coming to Waxhaw.  

 

I was a firefighter for the city of Wilmington for five years.  In 1992 I was hired by Chapel Hill Fire Department and moved my family to Mebane, NC.  I spent the next 23 years with Chapel Hill FD, 18 as an operations captain and the last five as an assistant Fire Marshal. I'm very proud of the fact that all our response vehicles carried "mouth-to-snout" breathing masks and all our responders were trained in animal CPR.  We certainly saved a number of pets over the years, including goldfish and reptiles, as well as doggies and kitties.

 

I've always lived with pets, from my childhood through my kid's teen years, as well as spending much of my youth involved with horses. With a house full of boys, my kitchen was usually "rehab central" for wounded birds, lizards, and other critters. Because firefighters work 24-hour and longer shifts I wasn't able to keep any dogs when I became an empty-nester after my third son left for college.  When a feral cat, (later named Eleanor Roosevelt for her fierce protectiveness and independence) had a litter of kittens in the woods behind my house in 2007, I domesticated all four cats, found homes for two, and kept Miss Ellie and one baby - Sheena Queen of the Jungle.   Although Eleanor crossed the rainbow bridge several years ago, Sheena and her adopted sister, Fat Eva, rule the roost at our house.

 

I get to indulge my affection for dogs and other four-legged folks with visits from granddog Chase and fur-babies of other friends and family, as well as the occasional pet-sitting. I look forward to providing the best of care to your beloved animals as a member of In Good Hands NC!

Background Certified
Tracey Buckingham
Team Member 

"Hi! I’m Tracey! Mom of 2 beautiful girls and pet mama to now 8 animals! 2 chill Fish, a loving bearded dragon, a cool cat, 2 fun guinea pigs and recently came home to 2 more guineas! It was a funny and surprising April fools prank, because we thought our 2 guineas were Male! Haha.

I am originally from Canada and moved to Charlotte in 2007 and now call this my home:) I am also a Chiropractor! That’s my full time job. Did you also know that animals can get Chiropractic care as well?

I have been told that I have a calm demeanor and have made friends with dogs who were not so people loving:) I look forward to taking care of your animals and treating them like my own:)"

Background Certified
Tonya VanWynsberg 
Team Member 

"My name is Tonya VanWynsberg and I am a resident in Weddington, NC with my husband of 21 years.  We have three children with our oldest, a boy in his first year of college and two teenage daughters in high school.  We have lived in this area for the last 20 years after moving here from Westerville, OH and I originally from Bristol, VA.  

 
My professional background is in the banking industry.  I stayed home for 13 years to be with my children and went back to work about 4 years ago.  I am currently a Mortgage Loan Officer.  The position allows a lot of flexibility which is great with teenagers to be driven around and pet sitting our furry babies.  
 
I have always loved dogs and cats.  I have a Great Pyrenees and a Standard Poodle.  My cat begs terrible and acts like a dog.  I rescued him about 7 years ago.  I also have a bird, fish and two lizards.  My daughters convinced me to get the lizards but I will admit that I have a big heart for all animals!"

Background Certified
Kelly Bagot
Team Member 

"Originally from St. Louis, I've been in the Waxhaw area for over 10yrs.  I first came to Waxhaw in 2008 while working for Lowe's, have since left that company but met so many great people here. Tom and I love Waxhaw and have made many friends in this area, we moved to Indian Trail for about 2yrs, missed this side of town so much, we moved back.   

 I have two older children (28&24) and Tom and I have an almost 6 yr old who just began Kindergarten at Union Academy and we are loving it, thus far.  We also have 3 dogs (Lilly, Brady & Jax), 2 guinea pigs (Lemon & Lime) and a beta fish (Squirty).

I have never met a dog or cat I didn't immediately love and thought it would be great to walk others' fur-babies while my daughter is at school.  My other interests include, repainting furniture, reading and gardening.  

I look forward to meeting your fur-babies and giving them a little company."

Background Certified